Home » spiritual warfare » HOW TO PUT ON GOD’S ARMOR

HOW TO PUT ON GOD’S ARMOR

Getting dressed for Spiritual Warfare

God's armorOne of the paradigms that God has used to describe the Church is the army of God. As Christians soldiers of the cross it is each believers duty to daily put on the armor of God.

It is vitally important that we not deceive ourselves into thinking that this metaphor is just a cosmetic and meaningless word picture to make the concept of spiritual warfare more interesting. Dressing ourselves with God’s armor is not only obligatory for protecting and advancing our faith, it is also highly practical and transferable. In this post I have taken each aspect of the armor of God as described by the Apostle Paul in Ephesians 6 and have attached it to a practical affirmation and a biblical promise. I encourage you to commit this list to memory and apply it daily as you meditate on the implications of each aspect.

  • Armor: To gird ourselves with the truth
  • Affirmation: Jesus is my truth.
  • Promise: Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. (John 14:6). Behold, You desire truth in the inward parts, And in the hidden part You will make me to know wisdom. (Psalm 51:6).
  • Armor: To put on the breastplate of righteousness
  • Affirmation: Jesus, you are my righteousness.
  • Promise: For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him. (2 Corinthians 5:21) In addition, you are complete in Him, who is the head of all principality and power. (Col. 2:10).
  • Armor: Shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace
  • Affirmation: Jesus you are my preparation.
  • Promise: “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).
  • Armor: To embrace the shield of faith
  • Affirmation: Jesus you are my faith.
  • Promise: I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. (Galatians 2:20). So then, faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word (rhema) of God. (Romans 10:17).
  • Armor: To put on the helmet of salvation
  • Affirmation: Jesus you are my salvation.
  • Promise: And having been perfected, He became the author of eternal salvation to all who obey Him (Hebrews 5:9). O GOD the Lord, the strength of my salvation, You have covered my head in the day of battle. (Psalm 140:7).
  • Armor: To take up the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God
  • Affirmation: Jesus you are the living word.
  • Promise: The words that I speak to you are spirit, and they are life. (John 6:63b) And He has made My mouth like a sharp sword; In the shadow of His hand He has hidden Me, And made Me a polished shaft; In His quiver He has hidden Me.” (Isaiah 49:2).
  • Armor: praying at all times in the spirit.
  • Affirmation: Jesus you are the one who baptizes me in the spirit.
  • Promise: He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. (Matthew 3:11b) Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God. (Romans 8:27).
7 Comments

  1. ttomadon says:

    This is a great tool! I never thought about using God’s promises and affirmations together in order to put on the armor of God. I will definitely be using and sharing this!

  2. Lately I’ve been experiencing a higher intimacy and level of relationship with God due to taking up God’s armor. Taking up God’s armor is not only for personal protection but also for advancing our faith in evangelism.

  3. Thank God for the breastplate of righteousness! We would be doomed without it!

  4. gcaballero9 says:

    Why don’t we put on the armor that God gave us?. It is up to us to put it on
    and go destroy the kingdom of darkness

  5. fredericocm says:

    We must be prepared to do everything to defeat the enemy. Part of that is learning to protect our mind. This isn’t rocket science but obviously most Christians don’t do it!
     

  6. kellyhalluch says:

    Our duty is to put on our armor daily I think this is such a cool the way of doing this, by classifying each piece of armor and turning it into a declaration. People can just read this out loud and begin to declare it over their lives each day, (Armor, affirmation and promise) Now the challenge is to do it every day.

  7. hannahteater says:

    Jesus is the truth and we must gird ourselves with this truth. We can start by putting on the breastplate of righteousness, the helmet of salvation and the shield of faith. Lets take advantage of our defensive and offensive weapons! Lets use the blood of Jesus and his Word, the powerful name of Jesus and the word of faith that can move mountains.

Leave a Reply

