Home » faith » Pray the Word

Pray the Word

Pray in harmony with the Word

pray the wordSuppose that you want to pray for salvation in harmony with God’s Word. How should you proceed? First you must know what the Bible says about the subject and what requirements it demands for someone to be saved. In Romans, God gave us the recipe for salvation:

That if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. (Romans 10:9, 10)

After this, pay attention to the conditions that the Word establishes for salvation and fulfill them. Do what the Word of God says about the subject. In the case mentioned, believe that Jesus rose from the dead by the power of God and confess him as Lord of your life. This demonstrates faith from the heart and confession of the lips.

Third, pray according to the Word. You can pray in the following manner: “Lord, I believe with all my heart that Jesus Christ is your Son, that you resurrected Him from the dead, and He is alive, and is the Lord. I confessed with my mouth that He is the Lord“.

After this, the fourth attitude is to believe that God has answered your prayer. “Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.” (Mark 11:24). Note: you did what the Word says: you believed and confessed. By meeting these conditions according to God’s Word you are saved.

Therefore, praise God because He heard based on His faithfulness to His promise. Praise is an expression of faith and is the fifth requirement. You prayed according to the will of the revealed will of God and His Word (Romans 10:9, 10); therefore, He heard (1 John 5:14). It is not necessary for an angel to appear to you and to tell you that you are saved. You only need to know that God is faithful.

Finally, the sixth attitude is to see yourself as a new creature. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” (2 Corinthians 5:17). Appropriate the fact that the person you used to be died on the cross with Christ and rose from the dead to new life by the power of the Holy Spirit (Romans 6:4). This really happened! You prayed in accordance with God’s Word; therefore, you were saved.

Whatever the area of necessity is, this is the way to pray. Apply these principles in your prayer life. When we begin prayer with the Word of God, we begin with the answer. Notice for example, the prayer of David in Psalm 23. He did not pray: “God, meet my needs. I need you so much! I am tired, I’m hungry; take me to a place where I will be satisfied. Free me from death, stay with me. Deal with my enemies”. No! David prayed the Word of God he prayed the answer:

God is my shepherd! I lack nothing. You have made me to rest in lush meadows. I am filled and supplied. True to your Word, you given me rest and sent me in the right direction. Even when I pass through dark valleys, I am not afraid when you watch at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure.

You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing. Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I will live in the house of God for the rest of my life” (Psalm 23 – The Message).

You are invited to do what David did. Pray the Word and see God act in your life. Do not cry, sob or murmur. Open your mouth and confidently confess before God that which He has already said. Confess that you believe that everything that He has promised is yours. This is the way that we return the Word of God back to Him and His Word will not return void.

For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, And do not return there, But water the earth, And make it bring forth and bud, That it may give seed to the sower And bread to the eater, So shall My Word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:10, 11)

All of the great feats in the life of God’s servants resulted from their faith in the written Word. True prayer is to take the Word of God to the throne, and by repeating with their lips what God has said before His throne, calling His attention to the promises that He himself has given. A study of the prayers of the saints of the Bible will shed much light on this point. They always placed God’s promises before him in prayer in order to receive his promises.

1 Comment

  1. […] Click here to read another blogger’s thoughts on prayer. […]

Leave a Reply

